Sayonara, Drollerie Press

This is a post I never thought I’d have to write, but Drollerie Press closed its doors last week. From what I can tell, the closure was not due to anything shady or underhanded, but simply because the health of Deena Fisher had declined to the point where she couldn’t keep up with the demands of running the company any longer. As a new writer, the possibility of my publisher closing down never entered my mind, but change happens all the time in life, and the publishing world is no exception.

I don’t know any details beyond that, but I do wish Deena and editor Selena Green the very best for the future. I’ll always be grateful to them for giving me my first taste of publication, and I’ll never forget the thrill of getting  that e-mail that said Spear Among Spindles was selected for the Playthings of the Gods anthology.

So what does this mean for me and my short story?

Sadly, as Playthings of the Gods was an e-book, Drollerie Press’ closure means the anthology is effectively out of print. The rights to my short story have reverted back to me though, so I’ll be looking to see if I can find a new home for Spear Among Spindles. In the meantime, I’ll keep on writing because that’s what writers do. And as I write, I’ll tell myself that my work got picked up before,  and if I try hard enough, it’ll get picked up again.

One response to “Sayonara, Drollerie Press

  1. So sad. At least you get your rights back.

    Best luck to you and the staff at Drollerie Press.

Leave a Reply

