Gearing Up to Get an Agent (GUTGAA) Meet and Greet!

As mentioned in my earlier postDeana Barnhart is hosting the Gearing Up to Get an Agent (GUTGAA) Blogfest/Pitch Contest this month. This week she’s kicking it off with the Meet and Greet Bloghop! For those participating in the bloghop (or just wanting to get to know me better), here’s my mini-bio:

Once upon a time, I was an engineer who spent my days writing dry technical reports in passive voice. Then I chanced upon anime fanfiction and decided to give it a try. That was my first foray into creative writing, and I’ve been writing fiction, mostly YA, ever since.

So far I’ve had three short stories published (you can find links to them on the side bar) and have just finished my second novel-length manuscript, a historical about the ancient Olympics. I still write non-fiction, mostly in the form of book and manga reviews for The Fandom Post. When I’m not writing, I’m usually spending quality time with my extraordinary husband in a Korean-style spa, cosplaying (hooray for anime conventions!), or plotting ways to make LA County a better place.

And here’s the answers to Deana Barnhart‘s questions:

Where do you write? In the kitchen, dining room, or community college library, whichever is quietest.

Quick. Go to your writing space, sit down and look to your left. What is the first thing you see? The microwave.

Favorite time to write? Whenever it’s quiet.

Drink of choice while writing? Hot water.

When writing , do you listen to music or do you need complete silence? Silence.

What was your inspiration for your latest manuscript and where did you find it? A footnote in history texts about ancient Olympic victors when I was researching ideas for another story.

What’s your most valuable writing tip? Keep a pen and paper handy in all rooms and wherever you go. Can’t tell you how many times inspiration has struck while I was in the shower.

8 responses to “Gearing Up to Get an Agent (GUTGAA) Meet and Greet!

  1. Hot water?!?! I thought my mom was the only one that drank hot water. I don’t get it, but she loves it 🙂

    Nice to meet you!

  2. What have you come up with to make LA county a better place? Seriously curious – that’s a great statement! Nice to meet you and good luck with GUTGAA!

    • One of our friends is really involved with an org called the Boys Republic which helps at-risk youth, and my husband volunteers with him for that. we also support LA PATH (people assisting the homeless) which is another great group, and have organized projects for Big Sunday, LA’s day of service. Most of the stuff we ourselves have dreamed up is smaller scale, aimed toward building community, which in LA is really difficult to find. that and I’ve made it my personal task to report the graffiti I find on my street. Tagging’s rampant in my area, and the city’s quick to clean it up, but ONLY if someone calls it in, which, from the way LA looks, most people don’t do.

  3. My daughter got me hooked on anime. I don’t think I’d cosplay (I used to perform at renaissance festivals in college, that’s how I met my hubby) but it sounds like fun. Good luck with GUTGAA. Stop by and say hello if you get the chance. http://anjeasandro.blogspot.com/

  4. I never thought of drinking hot water before. I should try it cause 1.) I like water and 2.) I’m always cold in the winter. Good idea. Much better than pop too. 🙂

  5. Keeping something to write with at all times is very helpful. I’ve written lines on the back of receipts and texted things back to myself. haha. You’re right, you never know when inspiration will hit.

  6. Wow hot water. That is unique. I only drink hot water when I forget which way the kitchen faucet turns on the cold. Very good advice too. Sometimes if I need inspiration, I’ll do something that stops me from writing it down and never fails the inspiration comes.

Leave a Reply

