The Next Big Thing (Week 22)

In a few days, I’ll continue my Japan pop tour with posts on maid and butler cafes, but right now here’s something a little different…

Today I’m part of a blog tag of writers talking about their work in progress (WIP). Last week, I got tagged by my awesome crit partner Alexandra Tys O’Connor. This week I pass the baton to a few other writer friends. All are wonderfully talented and one has just released her first novel! They will blog about Their Next Big Things on November 7, but for now, here’s the scoop about mine.

1- What is the working title of your book? Cynisca and the Olive Crown.

2- Where did the idea come from for the book? I was researching the ancient Olympics for an entirely different story, and I discovered Cynisca, an actual Greek princess involved in the Olympics. There’s not much information about her, but the facts I had were intriguing enough that I shelved the other project to work on her.

3- What genre does your book fall under? YA historical

4- Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? Uhhh… dunno. Despite living in LA, I actually don’t watch a lot of American TV or movies. (Blame Japanese anime and Korean dramas).

5- What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? A Spartan princess seeks to prove herself by challenging a political adversary in the Olympic chariot race.

6- Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
I have zero instinct for marketing. Meaning that I’m going the traditional route and am on the quest for an agency.

7- How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? I tend to revise chapters as I go so it took about a year.

8- What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? Shecter’s Cleopatra’s Moon. Both have grand ancient civilizations for settings and relatively unknown and unusual princesses as main characters.

9- Who or What inspired you to write this book? I have a soft spot for ancient Greek history. That and the answer to Question 2 above.

10- What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? A lame Spartan king (yes, there was one!), ancient Sparta beyond the armor and spears, royal scandal, sport rivalries, and horses, lots of horses.

Thanks so much for dropping by! Next up (Week 23) are some of my very talented writer friends. Check out their blogs next Wednesday when it’s their turn to post answers to these same questions about their own works-in-progress!

Riley Redgate

Stacy Stokes

Carrie Arcos (whose debut novel Out of Reach has just been released!)

One response to “The Next Big Thing (Week 22)

  1. I LOVE this novel and can’t wait to see it in print! Best luck!

Leave a Reply

